RSS

Conservatives & Racism: Liberal Lie or Harsh Reality?

17 Jun
Conservatives & Racism: Liberal Lie or Harsh Reality?

I’m a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to writing and so I was actually re-writing the blog I had written on reparations to answer the next question from black people in the blog series on race “The Top 10 Things Black & White People Want to Know About One Another, But Won’t Ask” because I was not satisfied with it entirely and I came across another valid point which I had missed. Then this morning as I was writing a good conservative friend of mine Stacy Swimp, founder of Contagious Transformation alerted me to the post below from the page of a white conservative and the many comments under it by other white conservatives. In fact, as I type this, Stacy and I are the only two black people that have made comments thus far. Now you have to understand that Stacy and I, although we agree on many things, we also disagree on several things as well. The Trayvon Martin shooting is one such issue which he and I have not entirely agreed upon and racism in the GOP/Conservative movement is another. Stacy has not bitten his tongue in asserting that racism is very real among conservatives (obviously he knows that not all white conservatives are racists) whereas I have defended the movement to the point of ad nauseam probably. I believe that racism exists with the ranks of the GOP/conservatives but is minimal at best.

I stand behind my philosophy that racism is an enemy of conservatism and on that point I believe that Stacy would agree with me. I just have never believed that racism was prevalent among conservatives. When I read this post my jaw figuratively hit the floor. I was hurt, disappointed and quite shocked at the bigotry, hatred and violent nature of some comments quite frankly. Even more disappointing is the fact that these conservatives actually resorted to racism (very quickly I might add) in response to racism! Imagine the irony of that. This is equivalent to literally pouring gas onto an already raging fire or seeing a man drown and throwing more water on him rather than a life jacket. Here is the picture in question which the person posted along with the comments below it:

Now let me be very clear about something before I share the comments under this post. In no way do I support or defend the message on this man’s shirt. As I stated in my last blog on in the race series “The N Word: Taboo to Whites, Endearing to Blacks” I support free speech including pejorative usage, because I believe in upholding the constitution but the user must also deal with the consequences that come from society. I don’t condone use of the “N” word nor “cracker”or any other pejorative. I personally don’t use either word. For those of you that follow my blog you know that I condemn racism of any kind from anyone. Here are the comments posted under this picture on the page of the white conservative (whom I won’t name). I took the liberty to delete their names as well & not every comment is problematic, but most are.

MLK, Jr would roll over in his grave if he knew about this. So sad with the hate! :(

11 hours ago · Like · 4

he might have shot the wrong one!

11 hours ago · Like · 2

When did Hispanic-Jews become crackers

11 hours ago · Like · 5

Give the guy a break. He only has a 6th grade education from Jamaica.

11 hours ago · Like · 4

idiot just an idiot.

11 hours ago · Like · 3

Got his diploma from the flea market !!!

11 hours ago · Like · 2

you give the bro too much credit;)

11 hours ago · Like · 1

Too bad he wasn’t there with Trayvon. Two birds, one stone! (did I say that out loud!)

11 hours ago · Like · 2

He’s got a grill, don’t go gettin all up in it….

11 hours ago · Like

The media brought this “shit” on. Anything for a potential race conflict.

11 hours ago · Like

He looks very intelligent. Probably a Harvard graduate

11 hours ago · Like

Shows this guys brain waves are off he is half Latin

11 hours ago · Like

bet you he’s on welfare and those gold teeth cost us plenty

11 hours ago · Like · 1

This is what kills me about the likes of this guy. No one is holding him back from going to his ancestoral home land. Give him some credit, he can bitch and moan, get all the media sympathies and avoid going to a 3rd world, aids ridden, shit hole because we put up with it.

11 hours ago · Like · 3

Theres your racist with a poster on his chest …

10 hours ago · Like · 1

I wander how many homes he burgalurized to afford the watch the gold bracelet the gold chain and pendant and all those gold teeth ?

10 hours ago · Like

Shoot him in the face and right things…. He’s worthless… A waste of breath…

10 hours ago · Like

He looks like a real winner!! lol

10 hours ago · Like

If he will play his cards right, maybe we can get him what Trayvon got.

8 hours ago · Like · 2

You know, Skittles and Arizona Tea

8 hours ago · Like · 1

these weasels are all real tough especially when with a bunch of punk just like himself or a gun, put him ono on one and you’ll see different kid’

2 hours ago · Like

Dumb ass doesn’t know the difference between a cracker and a Mexican.

2 hours ago · Like · 1

I Wanna Put A Red Dot On That Grill

2 hours ago · Like · 1

Ignorance and hatred create these kind of idiots.

2 hours ago · Like

The political, social and economic chaos that HITLER rode on his way to power is being actively cultivated by the communist muslim “lying” KING obeyme and his henchmen (GEORGE SOROS) and the like.

He’s a punk ass, no class, jigaboo

about an hour ago · Like · 1

Pussy Ass Nigger is more like it.

Stacy Swimp This is not a representation of what most black Americans look or behave like. Shame on you for attempting to post something like this to invite disparaging remarks against Black people for recreational purposes. Is this the way you propose to take our nation forward, people?

about an hour ago · Unlike · 1

Talitha McEachin So you respond to racism with more racism? How is that going to solve anything?

51 minutes ago · Like · 1

Now I have highlighted in red the most offensive comments in my opinion. All of these comments are from conservatives (or so they say). Some of them even have said that they are “Christian Conservatives” on their own pages.  What is most shocking to me are the comments that call for violence against the man in the picture. I have argued Stacy Swimp down on this topic and have asserted that people that react or think like this are extremists but these are regular, hard working Americans just like me.  In my blog where I discuss the GOP and outreach, I roasted the GOP for not doing outreach in minority communities and discussed how important it was in this day and age.  How can black conservatives especially (not that they are the only ones) effectively speak with those in our communities about the GOP/Conservative movement when racism and bigotry of this kind is prevalent. This is not the only post like this on that persons page or others.

The anonymity of the internet (hence, social media) allows people to say and do all sorts of strange, racist, sexist and misogynistic things which they’d never say to a person face to face. It kind of reminds me of how liquor loosens people’s lips when drunk. Hmm. White & black conservatives who publicly spew this racist rhetoric should be responding to this hate with love and using this opportunity to educate not ridicule. Everything expressed in most of these comments goes against the principles of conservatism which I fully support.  In discussing this post with another friend of mine who is actually a moderate Democrat, he said to me:

“Talitha–if you believe that Conservatives are “better” then it makes sense to think that it is “minimal”. But if you believe that “Conservatism matches my own world view, but they aren’t necessarily better people” then inevitably one comes to the conclusion that the two sides of the political equation can have different, but equally weighted assholes and angels. My belief is that the principles of the Right definitely appeal to racists, and that there are more people who believe in Nature over Nurture on your side of the equation. Not more “bad” people, again–just different flavors of “bad.”

How can I argue with this in light of the comments above? He makes a very valid point actually. These conservatives’ behavior is despicable and no different from that of liberals, whose behavior we often criticize. Another important point to mention was summed up best by Stacy Swimp regarding many black conservatives failure to react at all to things like this:

“ Many black conservatives will publicly admonish black Americans for any and every fault that they can find. However, these same black conservatives will make endless excuses as to why they are silent when whites, particularly white conservatives, are clearly guilty of racist rhetoric or/and actions. Yet, these aforementioned black conservatives don’t understand why blacks don’t trust them. It’s because they are cowards.”

To continue reading please click here

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2012 in Politics, Society, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Conservatives & Racism: Liberal Lie or Harsh Reality?

  1. Gail Meek

    June 17, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    What he has on is awful. What was said was awful when it went racist. I belong to a LOT of conservative groups and I have NEVER read stuff like this or heard stuff like this. I don’t know of the extreme provocation of the shirt caused people to lose their dignity or if this was an aberration.

    I truly hate to think any significant number of conservatives think this way. I would think it is statistically no higher than the population at large, black and white, and hope it is less. I can only base my knowledge on my experience. But…I would NOT draw any conclusions from this thread any more than I would draw any conclusions at all about black people from the murderous racist comments of the New Black Panthers.

    I have only had one FB “friend” make a slight racial comment on my post and I corrected it immediately. On the same wall that day was a photo of my black nephew going off to war in May. It made me so sad that those two things could even be in my life at the same time. I will have to admit however that the race-baiting of late has been so hateful and gross that it did start to grow some general resentment in my heart. ONLY…when I saw and heard people like you speaking against it did it begin to heal.

    Prejudice fosters prejudice. No ethnicity has clean hands at this present time. I’m sorry anyone had to read this garbage, it was totally wrong. It appears from at least one comment, that someone’s “mask” fell off and revealed his/her true self…..

     
  2. G

    June 19, 2012 at 3:07 am

    What is the definition of racism, being a racist, or saying something racist?

    I believe depending on one’s definition, we will either all be defined as racist, or a very small percentage of us will be defined as racist.

    And when I say “us”, I mean humans. If you jumped to the conclusion “us” meant a specific racial group, would that make you a racist? I suppose that depends on your definition.

     
  3. Leonard Marks

    July 4, 2012 at 11:10 am

    great post

     
  4. DWale

    July 15, 2012 at 6:04 am

    Well, since Mr Swimp has been in prison for this very thing, I guess he would know… he is a FRAUD… Scam artist in a major way…

     

Leave a Reply

 
