RSS

Damn Those Racist Whites & Their Stereotypes About “Us”!

20 Jun

I posted the following status to my Facebook page earlier this evening about a family member on welfare who is in no way trying to get out of her situation:

“I have a distant cousin with 8 children by 6 different men who gets thousands a month in food stamps & a monthly welfare check AND she gets WIC AND she gets free public housing….sits at home all day doesn’t even have her diploma and is not trying to get it either. She also makes money selling her food stamps sometimes…here I am struggling….and I went to college! For the last several years I have owed federal taxes even after I pay from each paycheck all year long….no refunds for me in like 5 years but she gets THOUSANDS back because of the EIC….how is that in any way fair? Hard work gets penalized and laziness & irresponsibility rewarded. Sometimes I can’t stand this country, and some of you want to know why I support a fair or flat tax. Please.”

Now this post so far has received 192 comments and 129 “likes” and the discussion has been…well…interesting. This post you are reading right now started off as a comment but then I decided that this was really another discussion entirely. Several comments from other black people to my inbox prompted this introspection. I was thinking about my own parents when I was growing up and when I was a senior in high school I entered the Miss Black Teen Atlanta pageant (This was in 1995). I wanted to drop out after I saw that most of the girls competing against me were very experienced in pageant participation and some even told me that I wouldn’t win because I had never been in a pageant before, I was a tomboy (kind of, I was actually just athletic) or whatever reason. Long story short, upon telling my parents that I wanted to drop out they said “Absolutely not, you started this, raised all that money, so you better finish it. Don’t worry about what those other girls say, prove them wrong.” Well, I didn’t win the crown but I was the 1st runner up (I’m the one to the right of the winner in the middle in this picture in the pink dress, which is also the featured picture above) to Miss Black Teen Atlanta in 1995 which was a big achievement for an athlete who didn’t like to wear heels back then but entered to diversify my extracurricular activity for college applications.

So you’re probably thinking, what in the world does this have to do with welfare or people that abuse the system? Let me make the correlation.Do you know what really bothers me the most about posting commentary like that above from my Facebook page?  The fact that if a white person posted that same thing they would be attacked and labeled a “racist”. Many black people are so quick to point out that there are more white people on welfare than black (which is true although there is a disparity) whenever the topic comes up, but they will not deal with the reality that far too many black people are on welfare, when we are only 12% of the US population. So many of us assume that the white person who comments on welfare, just has to be talking about black people – stereotyping. We believe those very same stereotypes about one another so much that even if a white person makes a general comment like mine above, we automatically assume it’s about us. Well, besides the arrogance one has to have to make such an assumption, we are really projecting what we think about other black people onto white people (not every time but if I had to guess I’d say 50% – 60% of the time). In other words, some of us really think that we are so important to white people that every disparaging or general remark they make is about a black person or black people in general, even when race is not mentioned. I hate to break it to some of you, we’re just not that special.

Based on the raw numbers, it is actually more likely that they are talking about another white person. Black people, do you really think that a white person who is working their butt off to pay their mortgage, taxes, utilities, tithes, clothes & food for their children really gives a damn about the race of the person on welfare & fraudulently abusing the system, whom their tax dollars supports? (to be distinguished from those really in need & those who eventually get off of welfare) I mean…think about that.Why would they have any less disgust for a white person blowing their tax dollars? It doesn’t even make any sense.

As a black person who pays taxes, I don’t care if the freeloaders are black, white, Hispanic, Asian, Native American or Green.I just want them to become self sufficient and to cease being a burden on the system. Of course there are people from ALL races who unfairly think that one race is more of a burden than others but I have seen and heard white friends of mine complain about a lazy, freeloading friend, neighbor, cousin, child, sibling who is white. This is not unique to the black community. With all of the vitriol and  backlash that some white people get for so called “racism” for thinking that all black people want a handout., why don’t we try something different to solve that problem. Why not work on getting the numbers and disparity down significantly? To me, that’s the only way to deal with perceived racist remarks and stereotypes. Won’t it feel good to say to those white people (whom I believe are the minority but I could be wrong) who think that way how wrong they are. Wouldn’t you feel such pride in exclaiming, “Ha! you’re wrong! the statistics show _____, Bam! in your face!”

We each can start by expunging that mentality from our own families if it exists and teaching our children the value of hard work and how rewarding self reliance is. Folks,instead of going around talking about the racist whites who think ALL black people want handouts, make them liars by making the supporting evidence go away. What good is it to argue and label them racists, if they can point to statistical disparities to make their case whether they are racist or not. The bottom line is what my parents told me years ago and as I subsequently did – prove them wrong!

 
23 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2012 in Politics, Society, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

23 responses to “Damn Those Racist Whites & Their Stereotypes About “Us”!

  1. Rowena

    June 20, 2012 at 6:18 am

    I raised 4 daughter’s as a single parent after a divorce & I strived everyday to prove them wrong. It wasn’t easy financially and I did have to rely on govt assistance due mostly to my ex not paying any child support. But it was a stepping stone, not a way of life to depend on forever! My daughters are grown women now and a assert to society,

     
    • Mike O

      June 20, 2012 at 1:20 pm

      Rowena, I wish I’d been there to shake your hand the day you accomplished that. Government assistance is like a narcotic and the day someone gets ‘clean’ of it is a day of great accomplishment and proof of strength of character. Those that do should be celebrate to the heavan because they have gained their true freedom.

       
  2. ann kitay

    June 20, 2012 at 7:23 am

    You are so correct…that knife cuts both ways! Most do! And , if I’m looking at the right girl in pink on the right, who were the judges…you outshine either of the other young ladies…Sometimes the very best you do or are…doesn’t come up to someone else’s standards…but, then, it is your own standards that count…I’d say from reading your piece you are beautiful through and through..and so right about taking the positive road…a lesson we all need or to be reminded of…God bless and keep you, Sweetheart…you are a diamond in the crown of womanhood of any color, race. ethnicity or nationality…Thank you for your passionate words…

     
  3. LSUMOM

    June 20, 2012 at 8:16 am

    This is almost too good to be true to see someone write something so accurate and pertinent to what the real problems are with Welfare, etc. My husband has a niece on welfare and has inherited money in an investment account. How’s that for fraud of the system? I’m just tired of the government encouraging people to make a career off the system. This has become a learned way of life for generations and it has to be stopped. These people should at least be required to give something back in return for what they’re “stealing” from taxpayers like doing community service work — anything but staying home and getting more money by having more babies they have no interest in raising and being a part of their lives, especially in education.

    I can’t tell you how happy I was to read your blog and how proud of you stepping up and saying the things you said. That takes a lot of courage and I pray God will bless you and your family for the stand you have taken. Keep up the good work and maybe, just maybe, we can finally see reform in these governmental programs.

     
  4. Mahlon Davis Jr

    June 20, 2012 at 8:36 am

    Great article, many black folks either are blind to what is really going on, don’t understand, are being brain washed.

     
  5. Todd

    June 20, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    This country needs more FOLKS like your parents and you . Bravery … the LEFT don’t get it ! Remember the PSA : ” A mind is a terrible thing to waste ” ? Well, the brain is a muscle just like your others that REQUIRE ACTIVITY . Apathy is substancially worse since LBJ ~ Great Society
    legislation. Bad laws effect all races. I sadly know MANY who are not black that died young because of sheer stupidity , which stemmed from a message that pop culture was somehow wiser than your elders in figuring out the challenges of life . Get real !

     
  6. Julie Fadoir

    June 20, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    Yep, raised two boys on my own without help from the government. Didn’t receive child support from my second son’s father, but we managed to get by. We didn’t have much, but what we did have was OURS, we worked hard for what we had, I held two, three and sometimes more parttime jobs in addition to my full time job — but they are very wonderful young men now and it was certainly worth the effort.

     
  7. Tommy Wright

    June 20, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    ann kitay, I agree with your post. Almost my exact thoughts.

     
  8. Gail Meek

    June 20, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    thanks, T. And a clue might be that the writer said “cousin”. Regardless of race, one has the perspective on one’s own family that others might not have. There are people like this in my family, too. We are family of black and white members. But that has nothing to do with the actions of the subject of discussion. It was the behavior that was criticized. Yes, I think projection has a lot to do with it. In fairness, there is some line of thinking along the racial stereotype, but it is diminishing as we live a new truth in this country. “Sorry” has no color.

     
  9. Cleve Walker

    June 20, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    I love the point you make about how a white person would be shouted down if they expressed the sentiments you’re expousing. I believe the reason for that has nothiing to do with pride or dignity. It is the result of secret shame. Deep down, in our heart of hearts, we all know that it is shameful that a disproportionate number of blacks and minority seem to be shackled to a permanent position of victimhood and dependency. The greatest indignity is that many black civil rights activist thrive off this situation as means of obtaining money and celebrity status while liberal politicians count on it for a steady supply of votes.

     
  10. Maggie C. Lambert

    June 20, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    You hit the nail on the head with this comment. My daughter was on welfare for a time and she hated it – she did after two struggling years, get off and got a job and made her own way. I’m sure there were family members who tsk tsk’ed but never to my face or hers. Yes, we are white. I know a number of folks on welfare and not one of them likes it – nor are any of them, to my knowledge, racist. I know too many people of other races who have worked hard all their lives and are still struggling and yes, they hate to see some freeloader – not to be confused with those who really need help – sitting back on their collective ass, doing nothing, often getting into trouble, and this isn’t confined to blacks – it’s right across the board.

     
  11. Jerry Joubert

    June 20, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    Thanking our God for parents like yours, and the daughters and sons they raised. It gives all who love freedom hope. Bless you and all who know you.

     
  12. Michael D Cook Sr

    June 20, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    The truth in this statement is profound and true or is that true and profound! 😀 Either way it speaks to a rarely observed reality. ” We believe those very same stereotypes about one another so much that even if a white person makes a general comment like mine above, we automatically assume it’s about us. Well, besides the arrogance one has to have to make such an assumption, we are really projecting what we think about other black people onto white people (not every time but if I had to guess I’d say 50% – 60% of the time). In other words, some of us really think that we are so important to white people that every disparaging or general remark they make is about a black person or black people in general, even when race is not mentioned. I hate to break it to some of you, we’re just not that special.”

     
  13. joycetyler

    June 21, 2012 at 6:07 am

    LOVE IT TALITHA! You are such a great writer!

     
  14. D. Watson

    June 21, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    Thank you for telling a great truth that all should read. Why do so many black people let the likes of Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton and other speak for them. These individuals are the real racists in our society and are trying their best to keep black people from achieving all that they could. They certainly do not sound like Rev. King. Progressive Democrats like Sen. Byrd (D-WV) and others are the ones responsible for the Jim Crow laws and are the ones fighting to keep minorities down and under their power. God bless you for your willingness to speak the truth.

     
  15. Jessica Arrington

    June 24, 2012 at 2:50 am

    What about the other more than half of black America that has worked hard since slavery to this very day to uplift their families and improve the lives of people who live around them. I see thousands upon thousands of hard working black people going to work everyday to pay off their the mortgages on their houses, pay both elementary and college tuition, who take good care of their property, and are in church every Sunday thanking God for the blessings He has bestowed upon them. The concept of the dimwitted, welfare addicted sponger is an overblown stereotype.
    Yes, there are lower class multi generational welfare families. But they are not the majority of African Americans. The unfair image of the sponging-off-the-government black person is unfair and reprehensible to the majority of black Americans. Black people who grow up in lower class environments, on many occasion, view black middle class Americans as something distant and foreign. And like the author of this piece, are not aware of the existence of, the values held by, and the accomplishments of middle class black people.

    Once I worked in a school in an economically depressed neighborhood. The children were rowdy,
    self-loathing, and did not hold themselves nor one another with any esteem. My job was to make them aware of the world outside of their community. When I told them about black middle class communities, organizations and black middle class family values, they laughed at me. It was not until I took them on a tour of these communities, and proved to them that they actually existed, that many let down their defenses and allowed me to teach them. They were amazed and in awe of how some other black people lived. They told me they wanted me to teach them what to do so they could live that way too. The other were impervious to my attempts at enrichment.

     
  16. Nyoka Pedist-Tibideaux

    June 25, 2012 at 4:32 am

    Pretty hard to take y’all folks seriously when you choose to talk gibberish on things that simply no longer exsist.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personal_Responsibility_and_Work_Opportunity_Act

     
    • Jessica Arrington

      June 25, 2012 at 5:19 pm

      I don’t know where you live, but I live in an area of the nation that has millions of black residents who live in many large black middle class communities in both the city and suburbs. Ignorant, condescending, arrogant, uninformed and smug idiots like you who believe everything you see on television, truly don’t want to see or hear about the millions of middle class black families who own homes, and live out their lives in a fashion that mirrors white middle class families.

      You don’t want to believe they exist, because that would make them equal to whites, and remove your contrived basis for presenting yourself as superior.

       
  17. teemtwo

    June 26, 2012 at 9:45 am

    Jessica I grew up in Atlanta which is FULL of middle & upper class black people so your assumptions are dead wrong. Next time just ask me before making such an ill informed comment which only embarrasses you.

     
    • Jessica Arrington

      June 26, 2012 at 8:14 pm

      Meaning what? Ill informed regarding what? I said that there is a large black middle class that exists in America. I said that many youth from deprived communities who aren’t aware of the existence of middle class communities, their values and their accomplishments. Just what am I dead wrong about? Are you saying that millions of black Americans don’t own homes, and work to take care of their families and send their children to college? Are you saying that the majority of middle class black Americans didn’t gain upward momentum due to their Christian values?
      Are you saying their are no class differences among African Americans in Atlanta?

       
      • teemtwo

        June 27, 2012 at 3:23 am

        You asked the question of where I grew up & accused me of believing everything I saw on tv.

         
  18. Dafne

    July 2, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    this is good my friend, great posts, all the best and success in your future.http://www.notebok.org

     
  19. Antonieta

    July 3, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    thanks for sharing in the above post.http://www.scottwestern.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
