RSS

Re: “You’re well off, that’s why you’re against Obamacare”

01 Jul
Re: “You’re well off, that’s why you’re against Obamacare”

In response to my blog, “Obamacare: The Left Won the Battle, The Right Will Win the War“, some have sent me messages telling me that since I’m “well off” that’s why I’m against Obamacare. I have to tell you that this lack of political acumen on the part of those individuals is an indication that instead of paying the “Obamatax” our money is probably better spent on education reform. I had a person to comment:

“According to my job, Obamacare wont change anything regarding my current coverage and since my coverage is sufficient for me I dont really have much gripe about obamacare passing.”

First of all I am by no means “well off”, my personal healthcare situation is irrelevant in evaluating this situation and one thing I value in my commentary is a level of objectivity. I have two prescription medications which I need now but I’m having to battle with my insurance to cover and I still know and accept that Obamacare is not good legislation. Let me say this, this is not about me it’s about the good of the entire country. We cannot evaluate Obamacare based on our personal woes. It is an expensive piece of legislation that is bound for failure because we can’t pay for it.

If you’re thinking that since your healthcare plan won’t change, you’re poor or have a religious exemption so you don’t care about the healthcare ruling, it is that very mentality that got us here in the first place. Who do you think will pay for your healthcare in lieu of your exemption or poverty? The rest of us will be charged with this at the end of the day. More than that many who need it or think they’ll qualify for an exemption won’t.This is not a sustainable plan because almost fifty percent of Americans don’t pay taxes as is. Add yet another tax and there will be more who won’t pay it.

Are some of you really that obtuse? It’s simple math. You can’t have a healthcare plan with no co-payments, the inclusion of those with pre-existing (expensive) conditions and expect costs not to go up! Obamacare will fail because it’s twin predecessor Romneycare failed and Massachusetts is a state with a lot of wealthy residents. We have to think about what is not only good but affordable for all, not just our own personal circumstances. Since we are buying our own debt anyway (basically just printing more money) Obama should go ahead and print more money to pay for all of our healthcare.We’ve already hit the iceberg and since we apparently cannot see the life rafts being presented, we may as well sink expeditiously…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2012 in Politics, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Re: “You’re well off, that’s why you’re against Obamacare”

  1. Ori Pomerantz

    July 1, 2012 at 1:35 am

    First of all I am by no means “well off”, my personal healthcare situation is irrelevant in evaluating this situation and one thing I value in my commentary is a level of objectivity.

    One of the things I like about you. However, people do have a bias towards what is good for them. That is the reason, for example, that in Halacha (Jewish religious law) judges are not allowed to take bribes and just decide it won’t affect their judgement. So it is not surprising if people expect you to have that bias.

    Having said that, your major point stands – somebody will have to pay for this, and that somebody is probably not the people who can afford the expensive lobbyists.

     
  2. Eric Hutchison (@EricSHutchison)

    July 1, 2012 at 1:44 am

    Taking bets on how many of your critics had to look up the word “obtuse.” Good job Talitha.

     
  3. joycetyler

    July 1, 2012 at 2:03 am

    Excellent points! People are so selfish!

     
  4. George Gallo

    July 1, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    Scusi, but is this a blog written by Christy or Talitha? Kudos on it either way! We cannot restate enough times that there is no free lunch on this earth, however obvious that should be. Also, the proper forms of Charity take a hike when state coercion takes over. Same with Pro Bono service when litigious barratry holds sway.

     
    • teemtwo

      July 2, 2012 at 8:10 am

      Hi george it’s written by me (Talitha) I have no idea who Christy is lol

       

Leave a Reply

 
