RSS

Introducing the “Bloguement” (Conservative vs Liberal)

20 Aug
Introducing the “Bloguement” (Conservative vs Liberal)

One of the things that troubles me as I participate in & observe the plethora of political discussions throughout social media is the manner in which conservatives & liberals argue at one another & engage in name calling, instead of healthy, respectful dialogue. So a few months ago I asked for recommendations for a liberal with whom I could have such civil discourse with, even though we are ideologically opposed. I was specifically looking for a liberal blogger and after several recommendations, I was introduced to Yvette Carnell through our mutual Facebook friend Charlie Harris, who is also a Christian Conservative. After several discussions we both agreed that it would be a great idea to host this “bloguement”, featuring honest, civil debate in blog form on the political & social hot topics of the day.

Yvette Carnell is a self-professed Independent Liberal who is an editor of African-American news site yourblackword.net and also maintains her own popular blog breakingbrown.com. She is a former Hill staffer, writer, editor, social media enthusiast & I consider her a very worthy “opponent”.In all honesty, in my view, debating her is sort of like debating the liberal version of myself (if there were such a thing). She is also a fellow native of Atlanta, Georgia and a young black woman as am I. Her erudite commentary on social & political topics is well known throughout the liberal blogosphere. Yvette is a political analyst for the African-American business and politics site Madame Noire (formerly atlantapost.com) and she also contributes to internet newspaper giant The Huffington Post. Yvette is also a featured video commentator, in the popular videos of yourblackworld.net creator Dr. Boyce Watkins on Youtube.

I’m a Christian Conservative blogger, Republican & member of the Tea Party. My articles have appeared on numerous political blogs & websites including the Yahoo News Contributor Network,  KiraDavis.net, former GOP presidential nominee Herman Cain’s CainTV & of course my own blog, Conservative Calmversation. I’m known throughout the conservative blogosphere for my provocative topics, candid opinions, humor & apologetics for the Conservative cause & the Christian faith. I am also featured on the Facebook page dedicated to highlight minority women within the Conservative movement, Conservative Black Women. I am also an editorial writer for Black Literature Magazine. The first novel of my fictional series, The Elements Book I is due for publication in early 2013 and my website is here. On Sundays, I host a 30 minute BlogTalkradio show called BookReads, highlighting authors of fiction.

The first topic that Yvette & I will be “blogueing” on is “Design your Ideal Healthcare Plan for America”. We both agree that the current state of healthcare in the private sector has not, is not & never has worked. We both dislike Obamacare, but for different reasons. Yvette is in favor of true universal healthcare run by the government and I am in favor of true healthcare reform, finally repairing what is wrong with the broken system we have had. Stay tuned, it’s going to be a very interesting endeavor on both of our parts! Input your email address (and confirm) on both of our blogsites to receive each edition of our “bloguement” to your email inbox!

Independent Liberal blogger Yvette Carnell

Consevative blogger Talitha McEachin

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Introducing the “Bloguement” (Conservative vs Liberal)

  1. Tinya

    August 20, 2012 at 1:06 am

    Great!

     
  2. George Gallo

    August 20, 2012 at 2:25 am

    What little exposure I have had to the medical profession or the insurers of it has been absolutely fine, and the same goes for dental. I am always amazed at how the practitioners are extraordinary in there proficiency and the success rate for those I know is remarkable. Only one friend I can recall had a botched brain operation and sadly succumbed.
    My only doubts are how many bypass operations, while successful, were indeed necessary. And it is known that certain procedures on indigents, that are otherwise unfunded, have commonly been written onto the accounts of those who had the best coverage, where they are seldom recognized and denied by the underwriters. That is the nature of the fraud taking place, in the name of pro bono coverage.

     
  3. Team Afro

    September 16, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    I look forward to following the dialog. Too often conversations degenerate into name calling and trash talk with very little fact. As a self-professed liberal and writer at AfroDaddy.com we definitely lean to the left but are constantly looking for rational conservatives to exchange ideas with.

     
    • teemtwo

      September 16, 2012 at 7:33 pm

      Thank you but there are just as many irrational liberals. I find it ironic that both sides think they are more rational than the other. They both need a dose of humility.

       
      • Team Afro

        September 18, 2012 at 12:26 pm

        No disrespect intended. I was only speaking about me as a somewhat rational person and some of the questionable, comments I get on site and off. All I want is honest and open dialog, that sets aside political rhetoric and focuses on facts. You seem to have a site where that can happen and again I look forward to the conversation..

         
      • teemtwo

        September 18, 2012 at 5:36 pm

        I understand! We will be hosting a webinar this Sunday to discuss healthcare. Details coming later today! Thanks so much for your comments. I try to have open “calmversations” with those I am “opposed” to even.

         
  4. salon de thé paris

    October 13, 2012 at 9:56 am

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an extremely long
    comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all
    that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say great
    blog!

     
  5. 13

    October 22, 2012 at 4:18 am

    12

     

Leave a Reply

 
