RSS

J.K. Rowling Enters Adult Fiction: The “Type-Casting” Has Begun

28 Sep
J.K. Rowling Enters Adult Fiction: The “Type-Casting” Has Begun

It’s no secret to those who know me that I am not a huge fan of the Harry Potter novels. I have all of them except the last two on my shelf but couldn’t/didn’t read past Book II. Since so many hailed the novels as children’s books that adults can enjoy too, I decided to give them a read years ago,because I love the fantasy genre so much. Then later after the first couple of movies I decided to watch the first, I fell asleep. That was the end of my effort to try and like Harry Potter. Needless to say, if the novels encourage reading in children, that alone is reason enough to throw some admiration JK Rowling’s way. So yesterday, JK Rowling enters the adult fiction genre with her latest book, The Casual Vacancy. I am going to read it so I can write a review and since I was never a fan of the Harry Potter books, I might actually like this one, we’ll see. After reading all of the “professional critics” reviews I must agree with a person who criticized the critics in the comments section of a blog saying:

“These reviewers have just made themselves look stupid. I imagine a 10-year-old HP fan would would have a similar reaction. “Where is Harry? What about Dumbledore?” They are professional critics who should be reviewing the book for what it is, not what it isn’t.”
Some of the reviews include:
“And forget trying to find a ­character resembling Harry or Hermione.” —Henry Sutton, the Mirror

“It’s that the characters in The Casual Vacancy feel so much less fully imagined than the ones in the Harry Potter epic.” —Michiko Kakutani, the New YorkTimes
 
“Harry Potter fans may long for a few more unicorns, though.” —David Sexton, the Evening Standard
I may not have liked the Harry Potter books that I read (or movies I attempted to watch) but at least I have the sense enough to start reading it knowing full well that it’s not a children’s book & that it is in no any way related to Harry Potter. Surely, the famed, erudite book critics of the New York TimesLA Times or  New York Daily News received the memo that The Casual Vacancy  was not Harry Potter Book VIII, right? What were these reviewers thinking?  Many of the reviews are simply unfair. This book has to be read with a fresh set of unbiased, non- Harry Potter spectacles and evaluated on it’s own merits. If the writing is dull or characters under or over developed fine but references to the Harry Potter world are ludicrous. I can completely understand those who simply don’t like this book, for reasons unrelated to the Harry Potter series, but when I see reviews replete with statements about hogwarts, magic & wizards it’s more than disappointing from a professional reviewer. You just can’t compare The Casual Vacancy to Harry Potter because there is no comparison. Last I checked…that’s called comparing apples & oranges. Now obviously, this is not the case for every review, but many of them have this bias. I’m going to read this new adult novel from J.K. Rowling, but you better believe, that if I don’t like it, it will be simply because it’s not a good book, not because a lingering  nostalgia & appetite left over from Harry Potter needs to be fed. Ijs…
 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 28, 2012 in Fictional Writing, In The News, Pop Culture

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “J.K. Rowling Enters Adult Fiction: The “Type-Casting” Has Begun

Leave a Reply

 
