RSS

Black Conservatives & Liberals, Listen Up!

19 Mar

Friends,

Consevative Libertarian blogger Talitha McEachin

Conservative Libertarian blogger Talitha McEachin

One of the things that I have learned from interacting with black liberals, libertarians and Independents (of course I’ve interacted with whites, Hispanics & Asians who subscribe to these ideologies too I’m just talking about black people right now) is that they are not just ignorant fools whom, if they would only subscribe to my way of thinking and my value system, they’d be liberated. I have also observed that many of them share some of the same values and conservative principles that I do and some do not.

Liberals and conservatives have different value systems, so their political views are based on those different value systems, but certainly are not limited to them. I am convinced, that most Americans are neither extreme as the media would have us believe. Most people are a combination of political views and have things that they are conservative about as well as liberal. Personally, I’m a conservative libertarian who has been labeled a RINO, far right winger, moderate and liberal even, depending on who’s hurling the label and what the topic is. I tend to agree with the late, great Octavia Butler when she said:

“People have the right to call themselves whatever they like. That doesn’t bother me. It’s other people doing the calling that bothers me.

I stand with conservatives on abortion and I don’t want to be forced into complicity in such an immoral act by the use of my tax dollars to pay for them. I believe the resolution to the same sex marriage issue should be libertarian in nature. I agree more with liberals on global warming.Everyone should carefully examine each thing they believe without the bias of political labels or fear of rejection by their “political tribe”.

Black conservatives as a whole need to understand that the notion that our liberal counterparts are just ignorant as a whole, is patently false. Black liberals who think that black conservatives are mere “sellouts”, “Uncle Toms” or “boot-lickers” need to understand that not only is Uncle Tom a misnomer, such stereotypes are also patently false. I have no reason or evidence which leads me to believe that either group is more or less intelligent, or succumbs to name-calling or ignorant behavior, any more than the other. I know people from all groups mentioned who are more intelligent than I am. 

Black folks (and any community can apply this), I say all of this to say, that such stereotypes & self-hatred within the black American community, gets in the way of intelligent discourse, brother/sisterhood and a collective, powerful response to the ills of our communities. All of us are needed to make a difference. My Democrat, Republican, Independent, Libertarian, Conservative & Liberal (and any other combination that exists) brothers and sisters, united we stand, divided we fall: make a choice.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 19, 2013 in Philosophy, Politics

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
