RSS

Sean Hannity & the Black Conservative Race Card

09 Apr

I saw the Hannity show with an audience of black conservatives & for me, for the most part, it was just more of the same. I respect the black conservative audience members & many of them are personal or Facebook friends of mine (or both). I agree with some points made, but I’m tired of black conservatives speaking of black liberals as being on a plantation. It does very little to advance the dialogue. I may not agree with liberals on a number of things but I don’t think they are stupid slaves of liberalism who can’t think for themselves. As much as I disagree with most of the tenets of liberalism as outlined here, I think one can subscribe to the ideology & argue in favor of it, just as intellectually as I can for conservatism.

On the show, there was too much time spent whining about how black conservatives are called names & maligned.Too much “woe is me as a black conservative” & too little problem solving regarding the many ills that plague our communities. I was quite disappointed to be honest. You don’t have to belittle your “opponent” in order to “win” – that goes for black liberals and conservatives. I wish policy would have been discussed more & I’m wondering if Hannity, in his role as race-baitor (I mean moderator) does not think of his guests as capable of discussing things other than race. Only one person had the guts to disagree with the “liberal plantation” references & other slavery metaphors. I’m really not sure what Hannity was trying to prove, but the show did very little to get the important points across. Thumbs down for me but you can judge for yourself. I agree with Christian conservative Hassan Nurullah on his thoughts of the show:

Hassan Narullah“If Fox is truly interested in defeating the marginalization of black conservatives, they ought to stop marginalizing black conservatives themselves. And we as black conservatives need to stop allowing ourselves to be marginalized. If the only reason they want you to come on is to bewail your status as a persecuted conservative, or even just to malign to a leftist position—say no, call me when you have something substantive to hash out.”

To read Hassan’s entire blog please click HERE.

Here is the video of the Hannity show in question & as I said, you can judge for yourself:

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 9, 2013 in In The News, Politics, Videos

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Sean Hannity & the Black Conservative Race Card

  1. Lynne

    April 10, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    Interesting take,Talitha.

     

Leave a Reply

 
