RSS

I’m Not A “Cookie-Cutter” Conservative

01 Jul
Consevative Libertarian blogger Talitha McEachin

Talitha McEachin

I get messages & comments throughout social media (and email) fairly often, from people questioning the authenticity of my Christian faith, conservatism, my cultural tie to the black community or my level of empathy for issues related to gender. This is usually due to an opinion I have given, which is not in agreement with the consensus or, which is in agreement with someone I’m supposed to automatically oppose no matter what (as if anyone other than me will decide this). I normally only respond to public accusations & ignore the private messages sent most of the time, depending on how they are expressed. I’m not special or alone, most of us bloggers/writers with any level of an audience or followers experience this. I objectively look at things & I make up my own mind and try my best to do so without all of the biases that I may have, and we all have them – it takes effort & forethought to be objective. All I can do is be me, be honest & give my assessments as I see things, or muzzle myself when I feel there aren’t enough facts or there is too much gray area to draw a conclusion. With that said, folks, I’m not a “cookie-cutter” conservative, Christian, woman, Southerner or black woman, so stop expecting me to be.

If I disagree with the majority in any demographic I belong to, I’m going to say so freely & respectfully and I could care less who gets upset about that. That doesn’t make me any less of any of those things I named. Sometimes I agree with liberals, disagree with conservatives, stand up for men, admonish women, agree with the perspectives of other black people & other times I disagree strongly. Plenty of times I’ve agreed with the perspective of white Americans (skin color doesn’t determine veracity for me). I have defended Muslims from vitriol. If you find that you disagree with any majority in your personal demographics it’s OK….the earth will still spin on it’s axis. These people don’t sleep next to you, they don’t feed you or keep a roof over your head. If hard times come to you, they aren’t the ones you will call upon for help. Do not allow the “herd” to force you to go along to get along – speak your mind. Stand up for what’s right (no pun intended) based on your convictions because YOU have to live with your actions or failure to act, no one else…think about it.

Rant over…have a blessed & productive day!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
