RSS

Absurdity: Emmett Till & Trayvon Martin

24 Jul

Friends,

I have tried to hold back my thoughts on the wave of pundits & celebrities comparing Trayvon Martin to Emmett Till because it really makes me want to curse & I’m trying to keep my language clean. From the NAACP to Beyonce to Toure…many are making this very fallacious and absurd comparison. The two cases are nothing alike & I have no idea how the Martin or the Till family feels about this, but if I were a member of the Till family in particular, I’d be insulted quite frankly.

There’s no comparison to a mob of white men abducting a fourteen year old boy out of his relative’s home in the middle of the night & lynching him for talking to a white woman in 1955, to a Hispanic man shooting an unarmed seventeen year old black teenager in self-defense (according to the jury verdict), during a fight in 2012. Let me say that I’m not one who agrees with the verdict entirely in the latter case (but I accept it) but juxtaposing Trayvon Martin & Emmett Till….really? Recently, there were pictures allegedly released by mistake, of Trayvon Martin’s dead body & I’m starting to think this was done on purpose, in order to manipulate the public into falling for such a comparison when there is none, as well as to incite outrage.I will not disrespect the seriousness of Emmett Till’s horrific lynching in that manner & shame on those doing just that.

The only similarity is that both cases caused a national (and international) uproar but the Till case catapulted the Civil Rights movement and people of all races started to stand up against the racial discrimination & murders of black people in the deep South. Some of my friends from different political ideologies have asked me about this, mostly my liberal friends & those are my thoughts. If you see the evidence in the Zimmerman case differently, fine. If you decide to protest fine, but leave Emmett Till out of it. The Emmett Till name/imagery is being used to manipulate America into seeing Zimmerman as one who has “lynched” a young black man & I think that’s irresponsible, end of story.

Although both are both tragedies…they are not the same:

 

 Trayvon Martin

Trayvon martins bead body

Emmett_Till

Emmitt Till's dead body

bryantmilam2

GZimmerman

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 24, 2013 in In The News, Politics, Society

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Absurdity: Emmett Till & Trayvon Martin

  1. joycetyler

    July 24, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Reblogged this on joycetyler.

     

Leave a Reply

 
