RSS

Right vs Left & The Black Community; Today’s Musings

04 Oct

Friends,

I know I’ve been away for several weeks and haven’t posted, because, as I shared weeks ago, I am steadily writing & working hard to meet deadlines for my upcoming novel, THE ELEMENTS. Today I had the opportunity to dialogue with other local black conservatives & I wanted to share my thoughts with you all (as I shared them on Facebook), so here goes:

I was speaking to a small group of local black Conservatives on a conference call today & we spoke about several topics, including race in America. We were speaking about some of the ills of the black community including the crime rates, the greater need in some communities for economic empowerment & other things like awareness on screening for things like HIV, breast/prostrate cancer…etc. Frustratingly (to me & one other) the conversation devolved to liberal bashing – specifically black liberal/Democrat bashing on the part of some, not all. It is so ironic to me that some black conservatives engage in this sort of thing constantly when the topic of race comes up & I saw a lot of that during the #Zimmerman trial & the year preceding it. 

Some will declare, “I’m just American, no need to identify racially” – I say to each his or her own in that regard & I’m certainly not the cultural police. These same people who make such statements will make a point on their blogs/websites & any media forum they are involved in to present themselves as a “black Conservative”. In other words, they self-identify by race when it’s convenient for them or will get them noticed more. They want to stand out & let’s face it, black conservatives on some level are treated like celebrities on the right. We are praised for standing out/up & going against the grain. Some love the notoriety that comes along with this in the black community, yet bash liberals for “always bringing up race” or identifying by race. 

We all (as far as I can tell) identify as black conservatives on the right (myself included) for different reasons or by instinct but until some start identifying only as conservative, race notwithstanding, I’ve had enough of their black liberal/Democrat bashing & admonishing when it comes to this topic, when many of us do the same things we accuse them of – right-wing style. I’m a lot of things, but I don’t bash blacks on the left to appease ANYONE, nor gain attention – I attack policies & ideology as I see fit & that’s why my liberal friends & I can have #calmversations. We debate but in a civil manner & I just wish there was more unity within the black community between black people on the left & right. One day, we’ll get there. I have hope.

Everyone have a safe, productive & wonderful weekend, be blessed!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 4, 2013 in Philosophy, Politics, Society

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Right vs Left & The Black Community; Today’s Musings

  1. Babette TheConservative-Holder

    October 4, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    I don’t know how many times last week I posted something complaining about racism and how many people came in the thread screaming “liberals” yet in my social media posting I clearly stated these were not liberals/leftist/democrats. It’s sad when those that state they share my principles and ideology can’t admit there is racism even within our midst.

     

Leave a Reply

 
